Saturday, November 29, 2014

Mellow Sonic « Dreamcatcher »

Mellow Sonic is one of the many projects of German producer Sandro Kreher.

Dreamcatcher is maybe its 22nd album (judging by Discogs’s list).
  1. Twilight Skies feat. Shen Nevan 6:39
  2. Monsoon Flowers 8:41
  3. Discovery 6:39
  4. Icarus 6:35
  5. Frequency 5:55
  6. Pandora 7:20
  7. Nanobots 6:06
  8. Dreamcatcher 6:05
  9. Sapphire 6:42
  10. Terminal 6:21
  11. Intergalatix 7:45
  12. Meltdown 5:10
Originally I didn’t want to include this album, self-released on 3rd of September in 2014 through Ektoplazm under a Creative Commons license, due to its weak beginning but upon listening the whole album decided to give you the pleasure.

What’s wrong with the beginning? Well, the music is promoted as being psychedelic drum ’n bass but even Sandro felt that the first track digressed too far that he invoked his alias Shen Nevan, used for post rock music, as an indicator for the difference. And after that it takes a while to get into the spirit of psychedelic and atmospheric drum and bass. It’s overall effect remind me of the 2003 sci-fi horror film with the same name adapted from Stephen King’s novel: I quite liked it but felt it will hardly convert anyone who doesn’t already like this kind of thing and even those will have a thing or two to complain. Still, you might want to give it a try…
  • Free streaming and download in WAV, FLAC or MP3 from Ektoplazm CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
  • Free streaming and download in WAV, FLAC, MP3 or Ogg Vorbis from the Internet Archive CC BY-NC-SA 3.0

Direct download of the FLAC version of the complete album from the Internet Archive:

No comments:

Post a Comment